Yoga Poses for the Seventh Chakra - Yoga Practice Blog

Yoga Poses for the Seventh Chakra

Yoga poses for the seventh chakraBy Faye Martins

What are the best Yoga poses for the seventh chakra?  The Seventh Chakra is located at the crown of the head and is referred to in Sanskrit as the “Sahasrara Chakra.” This chakra contains a luminous-white thousand-petal lotus that undulates in three-dimensional brilliance. When the awakened Kundalini Shakti travels up through all of the chakras and ultimately pierces the Sahasrara Chakra, true spiritual wisdom begins to unfold.


The Sahasrara Chakra is associated with both the colors violet and white. As all of the chakras are awakened, purified and energized, a Yogi or Yogini will experience successively higher spiritual states finally culminating in a profound sense of oneness with the divine or enlightenment. Practicing Yoga poses for the seventh chakra enhances the awakening and balancing of each chakra will help to nourish the Kundalini Shakti and support her journey up towards the Sahasrara or Crown Chakra.


Yoga poses for the seventh  chakra, work on both energetic and emotional levels. A classical Yoga asana for the activation of the Crown Chakra is Headstand. Nadi Shodhana pranayama is also a relaxing breathing exercise that balances the right and left hemispheres of the brain. Additionally, the Kundalini Yoga Sat Kriya helps to clear the energetic pathway up through all seven chakras. Practicing the Sat Kriya will awaken and nourish the divine Kundalini Shakti as she ascends up through the lower six chakras and ultimately pierces the Seventh Chakra.


Sat Kriya

The Sat Kriya is both an asana and a Yoga mudra. It is best practiced regularly for three to thirty one minutes at a time. Practicing the Sat Kriya for forty consecutive days will profoundly stimulate all seven chakras enhancing the journey of the Kundalini Shakti as she travels up along the Sushumna Nadi that lies along the spinal column.


To begin practicing the Sat Kriya, sit on your heels on your Yoga mat. If your knees are sensitive, place a folded blanket under them. Interlace your fingers and raise your arms over your head. Men are advised to cross their right thumb over their left, and women are advised to cross their left thumb over their right thumb. Begin by taking one complete Yogic breath. On your next exhale, begin to chant “Sat Nam” in a regular rhythm for the amount of time your have set aside to practice this kriya. At the end of your practice, sit quietly for a few minutes and feel the vibration of energy pulsate throughout your entire being.


© Copyright – Aura Wellness Center – Publications Division

Related Resources:

The Ultimate Guide to Chakras: The Beginner’s Guide to Balancing, Healing, and Unblocking Your Chakras for Health and Positive Energy

Chakra Healing: A Beginner’s Guide to Self-Healing Techniques that Balance the Chakras

Do you want to become a yoga teacher? See our selection of inexpensive teacher training intensive programs.

2 thoughts on “Yoga Poses for the Seventh Chakra”

  1. It is great to tell about 7th Chakra opening. Please also tell us why there is a difference in crossing the fingers of male and female persons with respect to the thumb.ulmo

Leave a Comment

Your Cart